Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 07, 2024, 09:57:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

[September 05, 2024, 03:01:31 PM]

[September 05, 2024, 11:22:23 AM]

[September 04, 2024, 09:47:14 PM]

[September 02, 2024, 12:09:05 PM]

by Noah
[September 01, 2024, 04:06:28 PM]

[August 30, 2024, 04:23:48 PM]

[August 30, 2024, 04:20:39 PM]

[August 29, 2024, 03:06:34 PM]

[August 25, 2024, 04:59:53 AM]

[August 25, 2024, 03:39:19 AM]

[August 23, 2024, 05:07:56 PM]

[August 22, 2024, 11:03:33 AM]

[August 21, 2024, 07:23:43 PM]

[August 17, 2024, 06:42:19 PM]

[August 17, 2024, 07:15:19 AM]

Picture Of The Month

Rockfish on the fly with Drifter2007

Topic: Help with new kayak choice  (Read 3669 times)

bndhunter

• Herring
  • Date Registered: Sep 2016
I am a newbie when it come to kayak fishing so I have lots of questions and would like some advice on the choice of a new kayak.

A little background, I currently have a Hobie oasis tandem that I will be setting up to use with my wife and in smaller waters. I have taken it out a few times alone and with the right ballast set up in the front hatch it seems to handle very well even with just the paddle. I am looking into a longer paddle for myself. I am just over 6' and around 240 lbs. and don't have a real problem standing in the oasis at least in calm waters. The main use for the new kayak would be in smaller lakes, some larger reservoirs and deeper areas of the rivers we have around the state. This will encompass fishing from small mouth bass, catfish, walleyes in the river as well as getting into pike walleye, yellow perch and eventually downrigger fishing for lake trout in the larger reservoirs. I am also entertaining the idea of trying some bow fishing and even fly fishing eventually.